Boeing

Frequently Asked Questions

What is MCAS?

MCAS, or Maneuvering Characteristics Augmentation System, is a flight control law implemented on the 737 MAX to improve aircraft handling characteristics and decrease pitch-up tendency at elevated angles of attack.

Why did Boeing install MCAS on the 737 MAX?

The Maneuvering Characteristics Augmentation System (MCAS) flight control law was designed and certified for the 737 MAX to enhance the pitch stability of the airplane—so that it feels and flies like other 737s.

When is MCAS activated?

MCAS only activates in the rare instance when three conditions occur:

  • The airplane nose approaches a higher-than-usual angle.
  • The pilot is manually flying up.
  • The airplane flaps are up.

What is Angle of Attack?

Angle of Attack (AOA) is the difference between the pitch angle (nose direction) of the airplane and the angle of the oncoming wind.

How will MCAS change with the software update?

Boeing has developed an MCAS software update to provide additional layers of protection if the AOA sensors provide erroneous data. The additional layers of protection include:

  • Flight control system will now compare inputs from both AOA sensors. If the sensors disagree by 5.5 degrees or more with the flaps retracted, MCAS will not activate. An indicator on the flight deck display will alert the pilots.
  • If MCAS is activated in non-normal conditions, it will only provide one input for each elevated AOA event. There are no known or envisioned failure conditions where MCAS will provide multiple inputs.
  • MCAS can never command more stabilizer input than can be counteracted by the flight crew pulling back on the column. The pilots will continue to always have the ability to override MCAS and manually control the airplane.

These updates reduce the crew’s workload in non-normal flight situations and prevents erroneous data from causing MCAS activation.

Does Boeing charge for safety features?

All primary flight information required to safely and efficiently operate the 737 MAX is included on the baseline primary flight display. This is true of all our commercial products. Boeing doesn’t put a price on required safety features.

Crew procedures and training for safe and efficient operation of the airplane are focused around airplane roll and pitch attitude, altitude, heading and vertical speed, all of which are integrated on the primary flight display. All 737 MAX airplanes display this data in a way that is consistent with pilot training and the fundamental instrument scan pattern that pilots are trained to use. Some operators have their own tailored training requirements and have requested that we also provide AOA information on the Primary Flight Display, and we have offered the optional capability to provide that information. However, not all customers wish to include this feature on their Primary Flight Display, so it is offered as a customer-selected option. With the software update, customers are not charged for the AOA disagree feature or their selection of the AOA indicator option.

How many 737 MAX airplanes have been delivered to customers?

Boeing has delivered more than 370 MAXs to 47 customers (through February 2019).

How many additional 737 MAX airplanes have been ordered?

About 5,000 737 MAX airplanes have been ordered by 107 customers.

How and why did Boeing decide to develop the 737 MAX?

Our development efforts always start with listening to our customers to understand their needs and requirements. Based on customer feedback and market data, the 737 MAX was the clear choice to succeed the Next-Generation 737. Over a six-year period, our team worked through a disciplined methodical development process that culminated with a robust test program that validated the airplaneā€™s safety and performance.

Boeing Contacts

Boeing Corporate
Charles Bickers
charles.n.bickers@boeing.com
+1 206 769 3234

Peter Pedraza
peter.p.pedraza@boeing.com
+1 312 618 8998

Boeing Commercial Airplanes
Paul Bergman
paul.r.bergman2@boeing.com   
+1 206 724 7292

Australia
David Sidman
david.sidman@boeing.com
+61 466 528 657

Canada
Tracey Shelton
tracey.l.shelton@boeing.com
+1 204 230 0012

China
Yukui Wang
yukui.wang@boeing.com
+86 1360 131 7722

Mike Ma
mike.ma2@boeing.com
+86 1381 108 9058

Europe
Chantal Dorange
chantal.dorange@boeing.com
+34 630 046 736

Keelan Morris
keelan.j.morris@boeing.com
+44 077 9882 8790

India
Ashmita Sethi
ashmita.sethi@boeing.com
+91 9899 0208 56

Japan
Rob Henderson
robert.j.henderson3@boeing.com
+81 90 1429 9662

Shino Yuasa
shino.yuasa@boeing.com
+81 70 2796 0708

Middle East
Fakher Daghestani
fakher.a.daghestani@boeing.com
+97 150 625 4855

Saffana Michael
saffana.michael2@boeing.com
+97 150 459 0651

Russia
Elena Alexandrova
elena.alexandrova@boeing.com
+7 495 797 3415

Latin America
Ana Paula Ferreira
ana.p.ferreira@boeing.com
+1 425 324 7030

Joseph Loeffler
joseph.o.loeffler@boeing.com
+1 425 306 2145

Southeast Asia
Melissa Cheah
melissa.l.cheah@boeing.com
+65 9630 7263

Zoe Leong
zoe.leong@boeing.com
+65 9658 3630

Other Contacts

National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB)
Christopher O’Neil
christopher.oneil@ntsb.gov
+1 202 603 7984

Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)
Gregory Martin
gregory.martin@faa.gov
+1 202 267 3454